About the Foundation

PEP2013Thursday 012

O  God, when you spoke your word, all things came to be; when your Word was made flesh, the Gospel of grace gave hope to a fallen world.

We pray that your Word may be spoken with power and grace today. Guide and prosper the work of the Episcopal preaching Foundation that succeeding generations may be rained to hear your voice and to peak in your name with clarity and conviction to congregations hungry for your truth.

In the name of Christ we pray. Amen


Prayer for the work of the Episcopal Preaching Foundation by the Reverend William Eakins



The mission of the Episcopal Preaching Foundation (EPF), founded more than a quarter-century ago as the Episcopal Evangelism Foundation, Inc., is simple and straightforward:

To Improve and Enhance the Quality of Preaching in the Episcopal Church.


The EPF emerged fromt he vision of an Episcopal layperson, Dr. A. Gary Shilling, who continues to serve as chairperson of the EPF board. His commitment is an outgrowth of his Christian faith, and part of a legacy of service to the Episcopal Church at the parish (Christ Church, Short Hills, New Jersey), diocesan, and national level. Dr. Shillings vision also expresses another simple and straightforward conviction: Good Preaching Matters.

We would like to welcome two new members of the Board: Dr. Lauren Winner and Rev. Micah Jackson


 The Board of the Episcopal Preaching Foundation


           A. Gary Shilling, Ph.D.

                                                               Founder, Chairperson
                                                               500 Morris Avenue
                                                              Springfield, NJ  07081-1021
      The Rev. Dr. William F. Brosend II
                                                        Executive Director
                                                        The School of Theology
                                                        Sewanee TN  37383


  Mr. Christopher J. Burn

  Ms. Maria B. Campbell, Esquire


     The Rev. Dr. Mitties DeChamplain, General Theological Seminary
            The Rev. Dr. Micah Jackson, Seminary of the Southwest

 The Honorable James D. Moyer

         The Rev. Mary Frances Schjonberg
                                                           Episcopal News Service


       The Rev. Susan W. Springer


       Mr.  Donald R. Stanton


          The Rev. Stephen Smith



     The Rev. Dr. Lauren Winner



R. Thomas Green, Jr., Emeritus

The Right Reverend Mark Hollingsworth

Peter Weir, Esq., Emeritus